Facilities Bond


We heard you.


This past summer, our 32-member facilities committee shared ideas for a bond proposal. The ideas were based on a professional audit that found Anacortes High School's facility needs immediate attention because of safety issues, failing mechanical systems and inadequate learning spaces. The audit also identified other safety issues and facility needs at our elementary schools. 


Since that time, we've collected feedback on our ideas from the community. You asked that our bond proposal: 

1. Address safety concerns

2. Focus on student learning

3. Be cost-effective

4. Find common sense solutions.


We heard you. The committee report shares a scaled back bond proposal that addresses only the critical needs. Following a public hearing on October 23rd, the school board plans to use this proposal in November to prepare a bond measure for voters to consider in February 2015.


The Anacortes School District administration and school board welcome your feedback on the bond recommendation from the facilities committee. Please read the full report from the committee (report is found under both Committee Information to the left and Meeting Minutes and Presentations to the right)  and provide your questions or feedback through our online survey:



Committee Members

First name Last name Affiliation
Bonnie Bowers Police Chief
Elise Cutter Parent/Island Hospital
Cory Ertel Parent/Puget Sound Energy
Duncan Frazier Investment Advisor
Laurie Gere Mayor
Steve Henery Skagit State Bank
Frank Higgins Skyline Beach Club
Bob Hyde Port of Anacortes
Rita James Arts Festival
Kirk Kennedy Retired
Liz Lovelett City Council
Matt Miller City Council
Gib Moore Retired Teacher
Sarah Nichols Parent
Vince Oliver Island Hospital
Patrick Shainin Software Developer
Nels Strandberg Strandberg Construction
Kristine Stultz Parent/Realtor - John L Scott
Steve Wilhoit Retired - Boeing
Allen Workman John L Scott
Stephanie Hamilton Parent/Chamber of Commerce
Mark Wenzel Superintendent
Lisa Matthews Director of Finance and Operations
Marty Yates Maintenance Manager
Jon Ronngrenn AHS Principal
Patrick  Harrington AMS Principal
Jennie Beltramini AEA President/Teacher - Mount Erie
Scott Burnett AHS Teacher
Joe Furin AHS Teacher/CTE Director
Cody Anderson AHS Teacher
Jodee Anderson AHS Assistant Principal
Tyler Starkovich Technology
Board Members
Jeanette Papadakis Board Chair
Karl Yost Board Director


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.